L&S America Online   Subscribe
Home Lighting Sound AmericaIndustry NewsCovid-19 UpdatesLSA DirectoryEventsContacts

-Today's News

-Last 7 Days

-Business News + COVID-19 Updates and Support

-People News

-Product News

-Theatre in Review

-Subscribe to News

-Subscribe to LSA Mag

-News Archive

-Media Kit

-A Theatre Project Book

-PLASA Events

2014 Henry Hewes Design Awards Honorees Announced

The Henry Hewes Design Awards 2014 honorees were announced August 21. The 50th Annual Henry Hewes Design Awards ceremony, paying tribute to designers in Broadway, Off Broadway, and Off Off Broadway productions, will be held October 6. The categories are a mix of traditional design elements including Scenic, Costume, and Lighting Design, and "Notable Effects," such as sound, music, video, puppetry, and more. The five honorees include Bob Crowley for Scenic Design in The Glass Menagerie, Linda Cho for Costume Design in A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder, Justin Townsend for Lighting Design in Mr. Burns, a Post-Electric Play, and G. Lucas Crane and Keith Skretch for sound and video, respectively, in This Was the End.

The full list of Henry Hewes Design Awards nominees includes:

Scenic Design Nominees
Alexander Dodge, A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder
Allen Moyer, Dinner With Friends
Antje Elleremann, The Open House
Beowulf Boritt, Act One
Brian Prather, A Christmas Carol
Clint Ramos, Appropriate
Dane Laffrey, I Remember Mama
Donyale Werle, The Explorers Club
Es Devlin, A Midsummer Night's Dream
Es Devlin, Machinal
George Hoffman and Greg Kozatek, The Capables
Harry Feiner, No Exit
Jason Simms, The Food Was Terrible
John Lee Beatty, Love's Labour's Lost
John Lee Beatty, The Heir Apparent
Julian Crouch, Big Fish
Laura Jellinek, The Essential Straight and Narrow
Lee Savage, Satchmo at the Waldorf
Mimi Lien, An Octoroon
Mimi Lien, Stop Hitting Yourself
Neil Patel, Mr. Burns, a Post-Electric Play
Nick Vaughan, RoosevElvis
Santo Loquasto, Bullets Over Broadway
Sascha van Riel, Isolde
Walt Spangler, The Jacksonian

Costume Design Nominees
Alejo Vietti, Beautiful: The Carole King Musical
Ali Turns, Dr. DuBois and Miss Ovington
Ana Kuzmanic, The Jacksonian
Anita Yavich, Tales From Red Vienna
Anita Yavich, The Explorer's Club
Anka Lupes, Marie Antoinette
Arianne Phillips, Hedwig and the Angry Inch
Asta Hostetter, The Essential Straight and Narrow
Catherine Zuber, Far From Heaven
Constance Hoffman, A Midsummer Night's Dream
David C. Woolard, The Heir Apparent
David Zinn, Fun Home
Deb O, Ubu Sings Ubu
Donna Zakowska, The Threepenny Opera
Emily Rebholz, Mr. Burns, a Post-Electric Play
Emily Rebholz, Stop Hitting Yourself
Isabel Toledo, After Midnight
Jane GreenwoodAct One
Jennifer Moeller, Love's Labour's Lost
Martha Hally, London Wall
Nicole Wee, Storyville
Rita Ryack, Casa Valentina
Sydney Maresca, Year of the Rooster
William Ivey Long, Big Fish
William Ivey Long, Bullets Over Broadway

Lighting Design Nominees
David Lander, The Library
Donald Holder, A Midsummer Night's Dream
Donald Holder, The Bridges of Madison County
Drew Billiau, Red-Eye to Havre de Grace
Howell Binkley, After Midnight
James F. Ingalls, Domesticated
Jane Cox, All the Way
Jane Cox, Dinner With Friends
Jane Cox, Machinal
Japhy Weideman, Macbeth
Jeff Croiter, Soul Doctor
Justin Townsend, A Man's a Man
Ken Billington, Act One
Kenneth Posner, If/Then
Kevin Adams, Hedwig and the Angry Inch
Marcus Doshi, King Lear
Matt Frey, An Octoroon
Matthew Richards, The Killer
Mike Baldassari, First Date
Mike Inwood, The Essential Straight and Narrow
Natasha Katz, The Glass Menagerie
Nicole Pearce, London Wall
Philip S. Rosenberg, A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder
R. Lee Kennedy, I Remember Mama
Sascha van Riel, Isolde

Notable Effects Nominees
Aaron Rhyne, projection design, A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder
Andrew Schneider, video design, RoosevElvis
Ben Rubin, projection design, Arguendo
Benjamin Pearcy, projection design, Big Fish
Brian Ronan, sound design, Beautiful: The Carole King Musical
Charles G. LaPointe, wigs and hair design, Beautiful: The Carole King Musical
Clive Goodwin, sound design, What's It All About?
Dan Moses Schreier, sound design, Act One
Grant McDonald, video design, Deepest Man
Jane Shaw, composer and sound design, The Killer
Ken Travis, sound design, Mr. Burns, a Post-Electric Play
Marte Johanne Ekhougen, puppet design, Hand to God
Matt Tierney, sound design, Machinal
Mike Potter, hair and makeup design, Hedwig and the Angry Inch
Miral Kotb, production design, Artist of Light
Peter Hylenski, sound design, After Midnight
Peter Nigrini, projection design, Fetch Clay, Make Man
Sam Hill, mask and wig design, Mr. Burns, a Post-Electric Play
Shawn Sagady and Wendall K. Harrington, projection design, All the Way

(26 August 2014)

E-mail this story to a friendE-mail this story to a friend

LSA Goes Digital - Check It Out!

  Follow us on Twitter  Follow us on Facebook