L&S America Online   Subscribe
Home Lighting Sound AmericaNewsLSA DirectoryEventsContacts

-Today's News

-Last 7 Days

-Business News

-People News

-Product News

-Theatre in Review

-Subscribe to News

-Subscribe to LSA Mag

-News Archive

-Media Kit

-A Theatre Project Book

-PLASA Events

Outer Critics Circle Award Winners Announced

The winners of the Outer Critics Circle Awards were announced yesterday. (The OCC is an organization of writers covering New York theatre for out-of-town newspapers, national publications, and other media beyond Broadway.) The big winner was the musical Hadestown, which took six awards; no other show came close.

David Korins took the award for outstanding scenic design, for the crazily askew world of Beetlejuice. In the lighting design category, Bradley King was cited for the moody, shifting look of the musical Hadestown. Peter England on in the projection design category for his ultra-wide-screen imagery in King Kong. Peter Hylenski's unusually effective effects in King Kong earned him the award in the sound design category. And Bob Mackie, whose career has long been linked with the title character of The Cher Show, won in the costume design category.

The other winners include:

Outstanding New Broadway Play
The Ferryman

Outstanding New Broadway Musical

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
White Noise

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
Girl From the North Country

Outstanding Book of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Robert Horn, Tootsie

Outstanding New Score (The Marjorie Gunner Award, Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Anaïs Mitchell, Hadestown

Outstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
All My Sons

Outstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)

Outstanding Director of a Play (The Lucille Lortel Award)
Sam Mendes, The Ferryman

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Rachel Chavkin, Hadestown

Outstanding Choreographer
Warren Carlyle, Kiss Me, Kate

Outstanding Orchestrations
Daniel Kluger, Oklahoma!

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Bryan Cranston, Network

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Elaine May, The Waverly Gallery

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Santino Fontana, Tootsie

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Stephanie J. Black, The Cher Show

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Benjamin Walker, All My Sons

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Celia Keenan-Bolger, To Kill a Mockingbird

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
André De Shields, Hadestown

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Amber Gray, Hadestown

Outstanding Solo Performance
Mike Birbiglia, The New One

The John Gassner Playwriting Award, presented for an American play, preferably by a new playwright, went to Jeremy Kareken & David Murell and Gordon Farrell for The Lifespan of a Fact.

The awards will be officially given out at a presentation at Sardi's on May 23.

(14 May 2019)

E-mail this story to a friendE-mail this story to a friend

LSA Goes Digital - Check It Out!

Follow us on Facebook  Follow us on Twitter