L&S America Online   Subscribe
Home Lighting Sound AmericaIndustry NewsLSA DirectoryEventsContacts

-Today's News

-Last 7 Days

-Business News + Industry Support

-People News

-Product News

-Theatre in Review

-Subscribe to News

-Subscribe to LSA Mag

-News Archive

-Media Kit

-A Theatre Project Book

Henry Hewes Design Awards Nominees Announced

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee announces the four honorees of the 54th annual Henry Hewes Design Awards. These honorees were chosen out of 87 artists in 55 productions during the 2017-2018 New York theatre season. The committee evaluates four categories: Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design, and Notable Effects. This will be the first Hewes committee award for all four honorees. David Zinn will be taking home the award for Scenic Design (SpongeBob SquarePants); Emily Rebholz for Costume Design (The Low Road); Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew for Lighting Design (KPOP); and Palmer Hefferan for Notable Effects, Sound Design (Today Is My Birthday).

Zinn was also nominated for Costume Design (SpongeBob SquarePants) and Hefferan for Notable Effects, Sound Design in Kill Move Paradise and School Girls; or, the African Mean Girls Play.

The ceremony will take place on October 22 in New York.

Additional nominees for the 2018 Hewes Design Awards included:

Scenic Design
Andrew Lieberman, At Home at the Zoo
Arnulfo Maldonado, The Rape of the Sabine Women
Christopher Oram, Frozen
Dane Laffrey, Once on this Island and Summer and Smoke
John Lee Beatty, Junk and The Portuguese Kid
Laura Jellinek, Mary Jane
Louisa Thompson, In the Blood
Marsha Ginsberg and Wardell Milan, Master
Maruti Evans, Kill Move Paradise
Michael Yeargan, My Fair Lady
Miriam Buether, Three Tall Women
Myung Hee Cho, In the Body of the World
Neil Patel, Time and the Conways and Paradise Blue
Riccardo Hernandez, Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train, Oedipus El Rey, and Mlima's Tale
Scott Pask, Mean Girls
Tim Mackabee, Describe the Night

Costume Design
Ann Roth, Three Tall Women and Carousel
Asta Bennie Hostetter, Dance Nation
Catherine Zuber, My Fair Lady and Junk
Christopher Oram, Frozen
Claudia Brown, Syncing Ink
Clint Ramos, Once on this Island
Dede M. Ayite , School Girls; or, the African Mean Girls Play and Bella: An American Tall Tale
Gregg Barnes, Mean Girls
Montana Levi Blanco, In the Blood and Is God Is
Murell Horton, The Metromaniacs
Normandy Sherwood and Chelsea Collins, Tiny Hornets, or, It Didn't Have to Come to This
Oana Botez, Jomama Jones Black Light
Paloma Young , Time and the Conways
Paul Tazewell, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical
Sarah Laux, Jerry Springer - The Opera
Suzanne Bocanegra, 12 Shouts to the Ten Forgotten Heavens
Tilly Grimes, The Government Inspector
Toni-Leslie James, Light Shining in Buckinghamshire
Tracy Christensen, Pride and Prejudice
Tricia Barsamian, KPOP

Lighting Design
Alan C. Edwards, Kill Move Paradise
Barbara Samuels, Raw Bacon from Poland
Barbara Samuels, Dance Nation
Ben Stanton, Junk and The Low Road
Brian MacDevitt, Carousel
Christopher Akerlind, Time and the Conways
Howell Binkley, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical
Isabella Byrd, Light Shining in Buckinghamshire
Japhy Weideman, Lobby Hero
Jeff Croiter, Good for Otto
Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer, Once on this Island
Justin Townsend, A Chronicle of the Madness of Small Worlds
Kenneth Posner, Mean Girls
Kevin Adams, SpongeBob SquarePants
Kevin Rigdon, Syncing Ink
Lap Chi Chu, Mlima's Tale
Matt Frey, queens
Natasha Katz, Frozen
Paul Gallo, Three Tall Women
Peter West, The Government Inspector
R. Lee Kennedy, Summer and Smoke

Notable Effects
59 Productions (Projection Design), Junk
Austin Switser (Media Design), He Brought Her Heart Back in a Box
Ben Williams (Sound Design), This Is the Color Described by the Time
Brendan Aanes (Sound Design), Balls
Caite Hevner (Video Design), Diaspora
Christopher Barreca (Scenic Design), Montana Levi Blanco (Costume Design), Donald Holder (Lighting Design), Austin Switser (Media Design), Justin Ellington (Sound Design), He Brought Her Heart Back in a Box
Claire Nolan (Video Design), Unexploded Ordnances (UXO)
David Bengali (Projection Design), Van Gogh's Ear
Eva von Schweinitz (Projection Design), Measure for Measure
Fabian Obispo (Sound Design), Oedipus El Rey
Finn Ross and Adam Young (Video Design), Mean Girls
Jeremy Chernick (Special Effect Design), Frozen
Jorge Cousineau (Projection Design), We Shall Not Be Moved
Maruti Evans (Scenic Design), Ntokozo Fuzunina Kunene (Costume Design), Alan C. Edwards (Lighting Design)
Michael Curry (Puppet Design), Frozen
Paul Carbonara (Sound Design), High Noon
Peter Nigrini (Projection Design), SpongeBob SquarePants
Scott Lehrer (Sound Design), Carousel
Woodshed Collective (Production Design), KPOP
Yael Pardess and Brad Peterson (Collaborative Design), The Stone Witch

For more information on the Henry Hewes Design Awards, please visit the URL below.


(25 September 2018)

E-mail this story to a friendE-mail this story to a friend

LSA Goes Digital - Check It Out!

  Follow us on Twitter  Follow us on Facebook